The reason behind the challenge

What the hell are you doing?

That was close to the first statement that flooded my mind when I decided to complete the Whole30 challenge during the month of March. My second thought was, “But it’s Cadbury Egg season! How dare you!” Sorry, self-indulgent Kim, you’re going to have to start creating a stash and enjoy it later in April.

For those of you who are unsure of what Whole30 is, I encourage you to visit their website. It’s a 30 day program that claims it will “change your life” by taking out what hurts your body, keeping only the good, and adding in the better. Basically, it’s Paleo. It’s hardcore Paleo.

What is Paleo? A lot of meat, vegetables, and some fruit.  Those three types of food are the foundation of the eating lifestyle. Of course, fat, nuts (not peanuts,) and  seeds are also critical to the eating habits of Paleoans. Becoming a Paleo-Iowan (Get it?! Go Iowa!) myself, I can understand the benefits of leaving out gluten, dairy, sugars, preservatives, etc.  It’s gastrointestinal self-infliction. At least, that is what I have come to find.

mark and kim

Mark and I at Ledges State Park outside of Boone, IA. He will be suffering with me through the next 30 days.

My name is Kimberly Nelson, age 22, and I have terrible gastrointestinal problems. Let me tell you, it makes being “social able” (as my latest fortune cookie told me)  incredibly hard when even the slightest sip of alcohol or pizza makes my insides implode and then explode.

So, for the next month my challenge is to “reset” my system and hopefully find solace for my gut. Along the way, I will share insights, relapses, cravings, knowledge, some links to recipes, and my adventure to a happier, healthier me.

Leave a Reply

